Sunday, June 29, 2014

which reset button works for you?

this week i did my third 3-day juice cleanse.  i raved about it the first time around, daydreamed about cheese the second time, and this time i spent the 72 hours crafting a list of all of the things i would eat when i was done.  i even ate avocado at midnight on the last night because i was jittery and nauseous.  i get that it might be a good reset for your body, but i've decided that i no longer need to reset my body in that way.  i like food too much, and i don't know that NOT eating solid food for three days is the best thing ever.  especially when i almost lunged at a 9 year old because she smelled like cool ranch doritos. as summer vacation approaches, i am going to "reset" my body by replacing lunch or dinner 3 times a week with healthy salads, and breakfast 3 days a week with a smoothie.  i will reset by being physically active every day and keeping to a schedule.  and i will reset myself by not feeling bad if i want to eat a handful of white cheddar cheese-its as a snack.  ok, two handfuls.

the "grown-up" myth

i turned 33 at the end of november.  when i was 16 (or, let's be honest, 25) i thought that by 33 i would be a proper grown up.  i would own a home, have at least one kid.  i would no longer check behind the shower curtain for serial killers when i was home alone, and i would make sure that i ate the proper amount of servings of vegetables as indicated by the food pyramid.
not the case.  i've been thinking so much about the idea of being a grown up lately, and what milestones do you have to reach before you are officially in the club.  having a kid? marriage? owning a home? a driver's license with your ACTUAL address on it?
i am surrounded by people who seem like total grown-ups in so many ways, but then i find out a) their parents pay a HUGE part of their rent, or b) they got married a few months ago but their spouse still lives with their mom and has NEVER lived on their own.  are they still grown ups? am i more a grown up because i am not on my parents' cell phone bill?  or less a grown up because i still have a childhood stuffed animal in my bedroom and never pay my bills on time?
so much is different than when my parents were my age.  people get married later, switch jobs more often, rent for life.  last year at this time i would have moved out of new york in a heartbeat.  if mike had gotten a job somewhere else, i would have moved pretty much anywhere in a second.  because i love my job right now, and new york seems like the best place for mike's career, should i come to terms with the fact that i will never have a formal dining room that will never get used?  at this rate, i might never have a kitchen table...
even though i definitely feel the pressure to "grow up" in the traditional sense, i also feel lucky that i am living in a place and time where, even at 33, i am free to figure myself out.